Award 2017
Event

Gessner­allee Zurich
Sunday, 22 October 2017
13.00 – 21.00h

    Nominees
  • Nicolas Cilins & Tina Smoljko GE / VD

    There is a fine line between personal interest and public responsibility: the prospect of profit alone can unsettle otherwise irreproachable ethical positions. In Nicolas Cilins and Tina Smoljko’s experimental set-up, our «capital» is at stake in two ways. As cash and as fuel for social rules and political decisions.

  • Gregory Hari ZH

    He trusts the collective memory and draws on the narrative power of images and rituals. That is why Gregory Hari can elevate subjective experience – as well as splitters of popular and cinematic culture – to a programme. His presentations are affective, his material seductive and his identity porous. Neither rooted in theatre, nor completely at home in music, the performer dwells in the allusive.

  • Leo Hofmann ZH

    Players are playthings. Technology is a prosthesis, and when the nomadic nature of music takes up its specific, cultural heritage nothing is more foreign than stylised feeling. When Leo Hofmann – inventor, interpreter and improviser – dismantles language, voice, movement and technique and re-arranges them, vulnerability also comes to the fore.

  • Jérôme Leuba GE

    When reality is given a double bottom, the symptoms are inconspicuous. When Jérôme Leuba confronts you with a shift in place and time, very familiar gestures effectively subvert our patterns of perception. As «Living Sculptures», his performative compositions leave discreet traces behind. And since he does not stage them with his own body: couldn’t your partner, your neighbour be a performer?

  • Annina Machaz & Mira Kandathil ZH

    Admiration can be an incentive and reflection a motor to make the most of one’s potential. In their last production, they had a go at iconic images of women – Marilyn Monroe, Amy Winehouse – as alter egos. Intrepidly, without shrinking from trash or glamour, Annina Machaz and Mira Kandathil flout the limits of shame – as if the dance between power and menace were their real expertise.

  • Dawn Nilo BL

    The dividing line between improvisation, everyday life and poetry is fluid: how could these areas ever be kept apart? Performance always happens, the question is just what one isolates in time and space, and which tool mentally opens up new territories. And so the absurd comes into play in Dawn Nilo’s critical-creative analysis of the present – and a glimpse of the seeming insane.

  • Ramaya Tegegne GE

    At the edges of focused attention, and at a remove from certified orders, there where things are still becoming, the material of shared attention proves to be malleable and negotiable. Ramaya Tegegne collects voices site-specifically, she takes on different attitudes empathetically and, while reading, becomes a mediator of opinions – of a social cartography.

  • 13.00h  Performances
  • 20.30h  Award Ceremony

Admission free
Gessnerallee 8, 8001 Zurich
Website Gessnerallee

Jury

  • Madeleine Amsler (free-lance curator, .perf)
    Geneva (2017-2019)
  • Yan Duyvendak (artist)
    Geneva / Marseille (2017-2019)
  • Sophie Jung (artist)
    Basel / London
  • Roger Merguin (artistic direction &
    business management Gessnerallee), Zurich
  • Pascal Schwaighofer (artist)
    Zurich (2015-2017)

Prix 2017
Manifestation

Gessner­allee Zurich
Dimanche, 22 octobre 2017
13h00 – 21h00

    Nominations
  • Nicolas Cilins & Tina Smoljko GE / VD

    Entre intérêt personnel et responsabilité collective, la limite est floue. Une promesse de profit suffit pour faire chanceler des principes éthiques a priori irréprochables. Dans le dispositif expérimental de Nicolas Cilins et Tina Smoljko, notre « fortune » est mise en jeu à deux égards: comme argent liquide et comme carburant des normes sociales et des décisions politiques.

  • Gregory Hari ZH

    Gregory Hari se réfère à la mémoire collective et s’inspire du potentiel narratif des images et des rituels. Il crée ainsi une partition, aussi bien avec le vécu subjectif qu’avec des fragments de culture populaire et cinématographique. Ses performances sont sensibles, sa matière est séduisante et son identité, multiple. Ancré ni dans le théâtre ni entièrement dans la musique, l’artiste joue avec des allusions.

  • Leo Hofmann ZH

    Les joueurs sont des jouets; la technologie est une prothèse; et lorsque la nature voyageuse de la musique puise dans son propre héritage culturel, on est loin des sentiments stéréotypés. Leo Hofmann – inventeur, interprète et improvisateur – déconstruit la voix, la langue, le mouvement et la technique pour les réordonner, soulevant ainsi le thème de la vulnérabilité.

  • Jérôme Leuba GE

    Les manifestations du réel sont peu évidentes si elles sont cachées par un double fond. Lorsque Jérôme Leuba leur impose un glissement de lieu et de temps, des gestes tout à fait ordinaires viennent ébranler notre perception. En tant que « sculptures vivantes », ses compositions laissent des traces discrètes. L’artiste ne les interprète pas lui-même: la personne d’en face, ou ton voisin, pourrait être le performeur.

  • Annina Machaz & Mira Kandathil ZH

    L’admiration peut servir d’inspiration, et le fantasme de motivation, pour dépasser ses propres limites. Dans leur dernière production, Machaz et Kandathil ont étudié des icônes féminines – Monroe, Winehouse – pour en faire leurs alter egos. Sans retenue, ne craignant ni le trash ni le glamour, ces artistes bravent la pudeur – comme si leur talent était de danser entre le pouvoir et le danger.

  • Dawn Nilo BL

    Les frontières entre improvisation, vie quotidienne et poésie sont poreuses; il serait vain de séparer ces trois sphères: le performatif est omniprésent. La question est de savoir ce qu’il faut cadrer et isoler dans l’espace et le temps, et quel outil mental appliquer pour découvrir de nouveaux horizons. L’analyse critique et créatrice de Dawn Nilo fait place à l’absurde: elle s’ouvre à ce qui, à première vue, semble dépourvu de sens.

  • Ramaya Tegegne GE

    Ramaya Tegegne se concentre sur les périphéries au-delà de l’ordre établi: là où les choses sont en évolution, où la matière des intérêts partagés est encore malléable et négociable. L’artiste collecte des voix, liées à des lieux spécifiques, et adopte différentes attitudes avec empathie. Par le biais de la lecture, elle devient médiatrice d’opinions et tisse une cartographie sociale.

  • 13h00 Performances des artistes nominés
  • 20h30 Remise des Prix

Entrée libre
Gessnerallee 8, 8001 Zürich
Site Internet Gessnerallee

Jury

  • Madeleine Amsler (curatrice indépendante, .perf)
    Genève (2017-2019)
  • Yan Duyvendak (artiste)
    Genève / Marseille (2017-2019)
  • Sophie Jung (artiste)
    Bâle / Londres
  • Roger Merguin (direction artistique et gestion Gessnerallee), Zürich
  • Pascal Schwaighofer (artiste)
    Zürich (2015-2017)